The Year Of Jewlery Project 2011

Some of you may be familiar with the Year of Jewelry project while others have never heard of it before. I was fortunate enough to get in on the ground floor of this project way back in 2004 when it began. In the YOJ project international participants commit to make one piece of jewelry per week with the goal of honing their skills and feeding their creativity. Optional themes are offered for each of the 52 weeks, which I rarely followed but always loved seeing the product of the many other jewelry artists who did follow themes. Not only was it a booster shot for your personal jewelry making skills, but the gallery served as a wonderland of inspirational images. I credit the YOJ project with much of my growth as an artist and I feel certain any other committed participants feel the same. For more on the history of the YOJ project, click here: Year of Jewelry Project

I participated from 2004 to 2008 but then fell under the impression that the project had wound down, ultimately ceasing to exist. That is why I have not participated for the last two years. Just last week I was thinking about the YOJ and what a shame it was that it no longer existed. Then, out of the blue I found out that not only was the project still very much alive but that the information came to me in enough time for me to sign back on and participate in this project once again.

If you’d like to participate, and if you’re a jewelry maker be it absolute novice to respected wire guru I HIGHLY recommend participation in this project. Registration is free and open until January 7th. Your first project is due on the 8th. To register go here and fill out the contact form by January 7th. You will receive an email with a password and further instructions from one of the organizers.

I would love to see some of my artist friends out there joining in the YOJ project. The more talent we have the greater our inspiration as a group is. However, if you choose not to join in this go round or found this post too late you can sign up for the next quarter. See the Official YOJ 2011 site for details. I do recommend that even if you aren’t participating that you bookmark the page and follow the weekly entries. You will find yourself quite inspired by the wonderful offerings each week.

17 thoughts on “The Year Of Jewlery Project 2011

  1. Thanks, Delia! I still believe I am too new for this, but I will jump and register. Let’s see what I can submit. I am not sure I can do a piece a week, but I will give it my best!

    • Cindi,
      You are more ready for this than you know. You are further along in your skills than I was when I started. And really it’s not too difficult to commit to one piece per week. There were weeks that many artist didn’t have time to make a big piece and they would either make a quickie pair of earrings or post a photo of a work in progress. There is no penalty for missing a week, or even a MONTH. The commitment that you make is really one to yourself more than anyone else. I am glad that you are joining in. It will be fun to have friends along for the journey!

  2. Thank you Delia! This project sounds like a great way to stimulate creativity. Meeting a challenge and being inspired by the work of others makes for a win/win situation. I am going to sign up! Thanks again for inspiring .

    • :::Happy Dance:::: Yeaaaaaaaaa! It will absolutely rock your world, creatively speaking. Totally win/win. I’m so glad that I’ll have so many of my jewlery buddies to share the journey with. πŸ™‚

  3. I just wanted to say thanks for sending the message about yoj 2011! I have never participated but always looked forward to seeing what would be posted and how the different artists were progressing! It was great inspiration. But I could not seem to find it last year and thought it had ended. I’m so excited it hasn’t !! In fact I may be brave enough to participate this year!!!

    • Kathy,
      You’re very welcome. I also thought it had ended a couple of years back actually. That’s the only reason I wasn’t participating. I highly encourage you to participate. I am excited about rejoining because when I joined I had pretty much only mastered a border wrap pendant and had a lot of room left to grow. Participating in that project did wonders for advancing my skills. I am excited to think what else I might learn and what new directions I might discover through participating again.
      I do hope you join us. You will be glad you did!

    • Just do it Mar! Take the Leap, you will be glad you did. The good news is that if you get in over your head you can withdrawl. There are no chains involved. πŸ™‚ It’s really a commitment to yourself more than anything and I know that sometimes our priorities change out of necessity. There is wiggle room if you need it! So take the plunge! It doesn’t hurt. πŸ˜‰

  4. I understand the challenge, but it’s not the direction I want to go myself this year. I hope to push myself to make larger things with a personal challenge – like my glove or similar.
    I will follow the entries, though!

    • Cat, I hear ya. And that glove was AMAZING. I confess that I saved the picture in my inspiration archives. I keep a folder of inspirational works that when I’m not feeling creative or motivated I go to that folder and browse the pics there. It never fails to get my creative juices flowing agian. πŸ™‚ I will look forward to seeing your personal challenge pieces in the year ahead as well.

  5. Very interesting Delia, I checked out the site. I will lurk and view the posts. Perhaps next quarter I can step in if I feel like I could handle it. This seems to be wire-work based only, am I correct?

    • Jeanne, nope. It’s open to all jewelers, it just happens to be heavy on wire artists because it was born in a wire jewlery forum. There are metalsmiths, seed beaders, stringers … you name it. Even if you don’t join in watching the entries will serve as a fantastic pool for inspiration. πŸ™‚

  6. Just stumbled across your blog and love this tutorial! Thank you for sharing it, I’m really looking forward to trying this myself when I can gather the necessary ingredients.

    • Sulien, glad you found me. πŸ™‚ I am assuming that you are referring to the metal etching tutorial? Etching is a LOT of fun. I am sure you will be an instant addict. Everyone I have shared it with to date has loved it as much as I do. Enjoy it! And remember to share it with any friends that you think might enjoy it as well. I will post free tuts from time to time on my blog and offer notices of new tutorials on my website so if you’d like be sure to subscribe to my blog. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

