Shoplifting and Resisting Arrest Charges Against Margaret Berk a.k.a. ‘Magi’ from April 2nd, 2011

Margaret Ann Berk, a.k.a. ‘Magi’ was charged with shoplifting a pendant from my booth at the Festival on the Green at the University of West Florida on April 2nd 2002 in Pensacola, FL and resisting arrest. It also came out in court, as the jury deliberated, that she has a prior conviction for shoplifting in Coral Springs, Florida as well.  No surprise there.

I just received the following notice from the State Attorneys office:

August 5th, 2011

RE: State of Florida vs. Margaret Ann Berk
Clerk No: 1711MM021970A
Division: 2

Dear Ms.  Stone:
The above referenced defendant was sentenced to:

Adjudicated Guilty
12 Months Probation Time
$55 Monthly Cost of Supervision
6 Months County Jail Suspended
$300.  Court Costs
$50 Cost of Prosecution
25 Hours Community Service
$200  Public Defender Fees
No Contact/Harassment/Avoid UWF
Do Not Attend Any Arts Festival @ UWF

If you have any questions regarding the case, please do not hesitate to contact me at this office.

Sincerely,
Kristy Sweat
Assistant State Attorney

Ladies and gentlemen, the pendant that she took off of my table only cost $40.  She will now be paying over $1200 for her bad judgement that day, when she could have paid $40 and KEPT the pendant in question.  I hope that she learns from this, but knowing what kind of person she is I doubt she is capable of learning a single thing from this episode – or it seems she would have learned something from her prior conviction for theft.

11 thoughts on “Shoplifting and Resisting Arrest Charges Against Margaret Berk a.k.a. ‘Magi’ from April 2nd, 2011

  1. I even received phone calls from other local artists whom she has stolen from in the past but who were not able to catch her in the act to press charges. Mostly to share their experiences – some fascinating stories, let me tell you!

  2. So, how did you confine her while waiting for the cops to arrive???????? I always wonder what to do if I catch someone in my booth with sticky fingers.

  3. I am very glad to hear this. One question, well really two. First did you get the piece back? Second any word about the one that was took in Gulf Shores?

    • Yes, the piece was recovered by the police and returned to me the same day. And regarding the one in Gulf Shores, that one is long gone and I will never know who took it but I suspect a teenager. Unfortunately, sometimes they DO get away scott-free.

  4. She had already left my booth. She was speed walking down the isle by the time I knew she had taken the pendant. We just gave a description and my other half (who was at the show while it happened) went with one of the officers looking for her and arrested her once we confirmed her ide

  5. What a sad story. Happy you were able to get your piece back this time. To lose a creation to theft has to feel like such a violation. Hoping this will stop her and others from doing the same.

  6. I don’t think she learned anything from it. This wasn’t the first time she was caught – and yet here she is back at it again. The really sad part is that she’s a 71 year old woman who certainly knows better than to behave that way. If she hasn’t learned by the ripe age of 71 I have little faith that she will ever improve as a human being.

  7. So sorry to hear this even happened… such a shame this lady feels free to just take whatever she wants… gets prosecuted, deals with the penalties and just keeps on doing it. One has to wonder, is it a sickness? The thrill of maybe getting caught? Who knows…. I am glad you have your pendant back, at least.

Leave a Reply

