Wow! Over 32,000 Views on a single post!

I just had to stop in to say thank you today. I just happened to figure out how to view the stats for a single post (only knew how to view overall stats previously). I decided to check my metal etching tutorial post and discovered that I have had over 32,000 views on that post alone! I was amazed to see that over 32,000 people have read that post when I only have a little over 1000 people subscribed to my blog. I was tickled to say the least to discover the popularity of that post. There will be more tutorial posts to come now that I see how appreciated they are.

I do want to take a moment to thank everyone who has shown interest in my blog, but most especially those of you who have chosen to follow me and become loyal readers. Those of you who take the time to comment on occasion are really the only reason this blog still exists. Without your comments I would have stopped posting a long time ago. Knowing that there ARE people out there who are paying attention to what I’m posting assures me that I’m not just posting for myself, which would be somewhat pointless. So thank you to my loyal readers, and special thanks to those of you who take the time to comment. I will be doing a give away here soon to express my gratitude to all of you! Thanks so much, and keep commenting!

Delia

18 thoughts on “Wow! Over 32,000 Views on a single post!

  1. We’re definitely enjoying your blog and appreciate your tutorials. 32,000 is an amazing number. Congratulations!

    Sent from my iPad

    • Thanks Shari! πŸ™‚ I had no idea that post was so popular. I am sure it’s due in large part to whomever decided to post it to pintrest first. Since then it has been passed around on pintrest quite a bit. It’s brought me a lot of readers over time. I was excited recently to discover that I had over 1000 subscribers as well. All these readers just for lil’ ol’ me? Wow. What a great compliment that feels like! Thanks for the comment!

    • Thanks Patty! It’s good to know I’m not alone here in cyberspace. πŸ™‚ I am also looking forward to the Herringbone workshop. It’s been too long since I’ve done the herringbone workshop. I hope it fills up fast! Anyone in the area who is interested can check out Danish Princess Beads and Jewelry on Facebook. They are located in Milton, FL, just on the fringes of Pensacola. Contact them for details.

  2. I am especially enjoying posts on your progression in enamling. Your cloisonne work is really creative and beautiful.

    Joyce

    • Thanks Joyce. It’s so nice to be able to share the adventure with people who can appreciate it with me. I’ve had a few learning curves, going at it without any formal instruction, but that’s part of what has made it so great. Just going over my blog posts myself and seeing my first cloisonnΓ© (that I was sooo proud of at the time) and being able to see how far I’ve come in such a short time really gives me a feeling of accomplishment. It’s very satisfying, and knowing that others are there to share it with me just makes it all the better.

  3. Although I don’t comment often, I have been reading your blog. I love your work and have pinned and suggested that very tutorial on etching to my own readers. All your beautiful work is inspiring !

    • Zoraida, thank you so much for passing that on. I appreciate it. I have to say that I’m a big fan of your work too. I’ve enjoyed watching your work over the years and love seeing your newest creations as well. πŸ™‚

  4. I really had a great time with my friend when we tried the etching process. We used copper washers. They turned out really nice, but I think we should have left them in longer, since we could barely see the etching. Does the solution work with other metals, too? I enjoy reading your blog and looking at your beautiful creations.

    • Yes. It works on brass as well. I have read that it works on nickel as well but haven’t tried it. Just a note, if you decide to experiment with other metals don’t leave it unattended. One student bought some dog tags from the hobby shop and was going to etch on them using the PCB etchant. She put a lid on the container (which I personally never do) and she went about working on other things in the studio. A few minutes later she heard an odd noise which drew her attention to her etching bath…. which was bubbling as if boiling. As she moved towards the container it literally burst into flames. Thank goodness she was right there! When I asked what metal the tags were she said she wasn’t sure. They could have been aluminum but she’d already thrown away the bag they came in by the time she related the story to me. So, I advise that you only use metals that are known to work; copper, brass and nickel. This etchant won’t work on silver. It requires a more toxic form of mordant known as ferric nitrate. You must order this form of etchant from a jewelers supply and pay hazardous shipping charges. It requires special handling which should be included with the material safety data sheet included with the mordant.
      Glad you enjoyed the tut by the way. And you probably should leave them in longer if the etch wasn’t well defined. With the PCB etchant I usually leave it in about 40 minutes on average. If you’ve used your etchant a few times, after it begins to become saturated with copper, it begins to work slower and slower. Try leaving your next batch in for an hour. The washers should be thick enough to handle that easily.
      Thanks for the comment Gail. Stick with me. I have more free tuts to come!

  5. Here! Always here reading your post, love them all:) it’s great to feel part of your jewelry adventure. You are wonderful to share and your tutorial are always clear and so instructive. Keep it going, you are not talking to yourself.

    • Thanks Arielle. πŸ™‚ I just have to do something wonderful for all of my great readers. I’m working on a give away to thank all of you for the encouragement and kind words. There will be a post on THAT soon. πŸ™‚ I’ll keep on talking as long as you guys are listening.

Leave a Reply

