The Creation of a Crabby Ring

I thought I’d share some pictures of my most recent custom order. Do you remember my first Crabby ring? I do, and I soooo loved him. When I was at a show I would repeatedly pick him up to admire him. He had so much character I couldn’t resist. And then a few minutes later I would go to check on him only to have panic strike my heart when I couldn’t find him – and then I’d realize that I had unconsciously put him on my own finger instead of back in his spot. I would have to force myself to put him back on display … and then, he sold! I have missed him every day since then. I recently received a custom order for another Crabby ring. I took a few pics along the way (trust me when I say the pictures display a much abbreviated version of the process) to share with Kelly who commissioned him and thought I’d share them here with everyone. I couldn’t find the initial pics, but they begin here with his fourth firing (after counter enamel, base coat and the firing which secured the wires in place). When it was ready for me to begin laying color down, I started with his body and his tiny eyes.

krabring1

After a couple of rounds on the body and eyes, I began to lay down the first coat of the light blue.

krabring2

Here’s a picture of him after a few rounds of the light and then darker blues, along with a little more orange-red for the body. I used my stone to grind him back to a flush surface and shape the edges for a smooth bezel.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here are the components (less the ring shank) before soldering. The base, the bezel wire (already soldered) and the jewel itself. In my first attempt to solder the bezel to the base, I melted the fine silver bezel wire. ARRRGGHHH! Frustrating. So then I had to deconstruct and reconstruct the setting with a new bezel wire. Finally, the setting was ready. Now all I had left to do was solder the ring shank to the setting. First, I tested the fit of the jewel in the final setting. The dental floss is put behind the jewel before I pop it in to test the fit so that if you have a good fit (the stone/jewel sometimes doesn’t want to come out – and I still had to solder the ring shank on) and I had a very good fit. So tight, in fact, that I actually broke the dental floss when I tried to pull the jewel out. That resulted in about another 40 minutes of fiddling to successfully extract the jewel so I could move on to the next step. I didn’t think it was going to cooperate for a little while there …

krabbyB

And the final ring, shank included.

Krabby3

krabby2

I adore him! Okay, no bias there, right? LOL What do you think of my little Crabby ring? 🙂

Would you like a custom piece all your own? Then check out my shop on Etsy! https://www.etsy.com/shop/deliasstones

8 thoughts on “The Creation of a Crabby Ring

    • Thanks Gina. 🙂 My little Crabbys just make me smile when I look at them. It’s so much fun to do it hardly seems like work – no, wait. That’s not true at all. The little booger WAS work, but it was pleasurable work.

    • Thanks Joyce. I used a chasing tool that I had on hand to texture the backplate. For the first Crabby I used the first (and only) stamp that I made, which was nothing fancy. Basically a V shaped stamp. However, try as I might, I couldn’t find it in the chaos I fondly refer to as my studio. So I improvised a bit.

Leave a Reply

