Custom Wire Wraps

It’s been a while since I posted here so I thought I’d pop in and share some pictures of some custom work I did a little while back.  There’s a gem collector in my area that loves my wire wrapping and he sent me home with a batch of stones to wrap for him.  These are large stones, very lovely too.   First a picture in hand to show the size of these gems.

RSCN3920

I had two pink topaz stones so I wrapped one in silver and one in gold.  I think they turned out pretty well.

RSCN3925

RSCN3934

I really loved the result of this beautiful citrine wrapped in mixed metals – predominately gold with sterling silver accents.

RSCN3928

Finally I tried something different with this london blue topaz (I think that’s what it is).  I LOVE the color of this stone.  This is a popular binding method but I’ve never seen it used to wrap a faceted stone before so I thought I’d give it a go.  What do you think?

RSCN3922

RSCN3923

Fortunately, the customer liked them very much… but there’s still one left!  A HUGE citrine that is about half the size of my palm.  I have been working on something special for this piece.  It’s a challenge!  Let me tell you!  I’ve already wrapped it twice and decided I didn’t care for the results.  It’s such an amazing stone that I feel it deserves an amazing wrap so it’s now on it’s third incarnation, and I am so far loving the direction it’s headed.  I hope to have it finished up by the end of the week.  I’ve never done anything quite like this before (similar in ways to past work, but with a different approach) and I can’t wait to share the final results with you!  Just for fun, here’s a preview picture to show the size of the stone and give you an inkling of the direction I’m headed… but JUST and inkling!

DSCN3953 (3)

DSCN3952 (2)

Hmmm… a soldered frame.  Whatever could I be up to?  Keep an eye out and you’ll soon find out!  I’m a little over half way to completing this gem.