Custom Wire Wraps

It’s been a while since I posted here so I thought I’d pop in and share some pictures of some custom work I did a little while back.  There’s a gem collector in my area that loves my wire wrapping and he sent me home with a batch of stones to wrap for him.  These are large stones, very lovely too.   First a picture in hand to show the size of these gems.

RSCN3920

I had two pink topaz stones so I wrapped one in silver and one in gold.  I think they turned out pretty well.

RSCN3925

RSCN3934

I really loved the result of this beautiful citrine wrapped in mixed metals – predominately gold with sterling silver accents.

RSCN3928

Finally I tried something different with this london blue topaz (I think that’s what it is).  I LOVE the color of this stone.  This is a popular binding method but I’ve never seen it used to wrap a faceted stone before so I thought I’d give it a go.  What do you think?

RSCN3922

RSCN3923

Fortunately, the customer liked them very much… but there’s still one left!  A HUGE citrine that is about half the size of my palm.  I have been working on something special for this piece.  It’s a challenge!  Let me tell you!  I’ve already wrapped it twice and decided I didn’t care for the results.  It’s such an amazing stone that I feel it deserves an amazing wrap so it’s now on it’s third incarnation, and I am so far loving the direction it’s headed.  I hope to have it finished up by the end of the week.  I’ve never done anything quite like this before (similar in ways to past work, but with a different approach) and I can’t wait to share the final results with you!  Just for fun, here’s a preview picture to show the size of the stone and give you an inkling of the direction I’m headed… but JUST and inkling!

DSCN3953 (3)

DSCN3952 (2)

Hmmm… a soldered frame.  Whatever could I be up to?  Keep an eye out and you’ll soon find out!  I’m a little over half way to completing this gem.

2 thoughts on “Custom Wire Wraps

  1. Hi Delia, these wire wrapped stones are beautiful. What about wrapping the big stone in copper? Cookson Gold have some really nice patterned wire that might look nice. Kind Regards,

    Kit

    • Hi Kit, I am guessing you’re referring to the large citrine the size of my palm. That one is a custom order and it’s going to be in mixed metals – gold and silver. I’m nearing the ‘reveal’ on how it turned out, so stay tuned! 🙂 Thank you for the suggestion though. I’ll have to scoot over and check out the patterned wire at Cookson.

Leave a comment